Our story

What we have already been able to achieve in the past years and how we have been supported.

Bye Bye Plastic Happy
2018

Steffi Schroeter is starting the project on the Danish island of Bornholm. As a nature coach and whale researcher (book "The Wisdom of Whales") she wants to do something locally to protect the whales and the sea. Through her travels and research of whales, her knowledge of the plastic flood and the dangers to the sea and humans is great and, inspired by the "plasticfree communities" movement in the UK, she starts her own project on Bornholm. The whale becomes the symbolic figure of the Changemaker Partnership, then called "Smiley," which is awarded to companies and institutions that do without single-use plastic. Within a short time, many companies join the project and the press and influencers report on it.

BPP 2018
2019

The success and driving force of the initiative is spreading across borders and gradually volunteers from different regions are coming forward who wanted to do the same: Call and inspire locally for single-use plastic reduction and distribute "smileys" in recognition of the fight against the plastic tide. Via a report about "plastic-free Bornholm", Sylt resident Heike Werner hears about Bye Bye Plastik and Steffi Schroeter and brings the project to the island of Sylt. Together with Carin Winkler, they decide to make Sylt more and more plastic-free. In the same year, volunteers start regional Bye Bye Plastic projects in Kiel, Bordesholm, on the Lower Rhine and Westerwald/Mittelrhein. The movement grows! On Bornholm, Bye Bye Plastik takes part in the political folk meeting "Folkemøde" and causes the issue of single-use plastic to be seriously discussed for the first time for the event with 150,000 visitors. The decision follows that the event should be free of single-use plastic from 2020 and the organizing secretariat is awarded the Changemaker Partnership.

BPP 2019
2020

Corona also meets the commitment of Bye Bye Plastic and the attention for the fight against the plastic flood goes to zero. Instead, the consumption of disposable items and hygiene products is rising steeply. Sylt continues to be very active and wins the environmental award of the islands and Halligen. The cooperation between the founder and the women of Sylt intensifies and together they attend, among other things Meetings of the "Round Table Marine Litter", an information platform of about 130 experts from fishing, shipping, industry, retail, science, education, tourism, environmental associations, authorities, politics and art. Bye Bye Plastic regional groups from Flensburg and Frankfurt are joining in.

BPP 2020
2021

In July 2021, a new regulation will come into force across the EU, banning the production of some single-use plastic items, such as the plastic cup or straw. A first milestone of work has been done, and now the task is to adapt the criteria for awarding the award and increase the demands on companies. A restructuring is in the offing: A permanent core team of Steffi Schroeter, Heike Werner and Carin Winkler is formed and it is decided to give the project a new form and structure, to be able to accept donations and to expand the activities and projects. The decision was made to found a non-profit limited liability company and set all the necessary preparations in motion. Sylt becomes the most active region in Germany and cooperates with other players such as Healthy Seas, Ocean.Now! and becomes part of newly founded projects like the "Klare Kante Sylt" for waste prevention on the island.

BPP 2021
2022

The core team is putting more and more heads together and a concept is being developed that will make Bye Bye Plastik even more of a movement, according to the motto: One for the people. One for the companies. Both for the movement. A team of three young IT and design students are hired and the CHANGEMAKER Partnership is developed with new criteria for and the BELIEVER sticker, with which private individuals can show their attitude and their concrete contribution against the plastic flood. against the plastic flood. Both will be registered as a protected trademark. In February, the marine protection organization Bye Bye Plastik guG, based in Westerland on the island of Sylt, is officially founded with three partners: Steffi, Heike and Carin. Steffi Schroeter takes over the operational management. From March the first donations can be accepted. Bye Bye Plastik now also starts in Norway, in Stavanger, thanks to a committed German emigrant. Heike and Carin bring the microplastic exhibition "inyourface" from Ocean-Now! to Sylt, which opens on March 22, 2022. The Artist Swantje Günzel will be there for the opening and a theme week with events on microplastics and beach clean ups will frame the program. The new bilingual website will be launched in May, where companies and institutions can now also apply online for the CHANGEMAKER Partnership. Bye Bye Plastik is presented with the Environmental Award on Rügen at the Island and Hallig Conference.

BPP 2022

We want to tackle

We are a Movement!

Together Bye Bye Plastic
Steffi Bye Bye Plastic

Anyone who wants to contribute can join us.

Steffi
Carin Bye Bye Plastic

Making a difference together.

Carin
Heike Bye Bye Plastic

Making a difference in a big way.

Heike

Every bit of help counts! You can become part of us, too. Whether at events, through a donation or your actions. Every step counts, no matter how big. We want to create a better future together and free our oceans more and more from plastic. But that can only happen with your support, so we're even more grateful to have you!

Participate

That's us

Love Bye Bye Plastic
Bye Bye Plastic team Bye Bye Plastic team Bye Bye Plastic team Bye Bye Plastic team Bye Bye Plastic team Bye Bye Plastic team Bye Bye Plastic team Bye Bye Plastic team

creating change

creating change

Promote our projects

We inform, motivate and activate citizens*, companies and municipalities, with the aim that plastic consumption is reduced.

Enable events

We create awareness of the problem and activate, as it were, to concrete action.

Award certificates

We advocate that anyone and everyone who is committed to Bye Bye Plastic can start in small ways to contribute to change.

Protect the oceans

We are an ocean conservation organization and we stand up for what we love. Our oceans and its inhabitants are choking in plastic and it's up to us humans to change that.

Unsere Geschichte

Was wir bereits in den vergangenen Jahren bewirken konnten und wie wir unterstützt wurden.

Bye Bye Plastic Happy
2018

Steffi Schroeter beginnt auf der dänischen Insel Bornholm das Projekt. Als Naturcoach und Walforscherin (Buch „Die Weisheit der Wale“) möchte sie lokal etwas tun, um die Wale und das Meer zu schützen. Durch ihre Reisen und das Erforschen der Wale ist ihr Wissen um die Plastikflut und die Gefahren für Meer und Mensch groß und sie startet, inspiriert durch die Bewegung „plasticfree communities“ in Großbritannien, ihr eigenes Projekt auf Bornholm. Der Wal wird zur Symbolfigur der CHANGEMAKER-Partnerschaft, damals „Smiley“ genannt, das an Unternehmen und Einrichtungen vergeben wird, die auf Einwegplastik verzichten. Innerhalb kurzer Zeit schließen sich viele Unternehmen dem Projekt an und die Presse und Influencer berichten darüber.

BPP 2018
2019

Der Erfolg und die Treibkraft der Initiative spricht sich über die Grenzen hinweg herum und nach und nach melden sich Freiwillige aus unterschiedlichen Regionen, die Gleiches tun wollten: Vor Ort zur Einweg-Plastik-Reduktion aufrufen und inspirieren und „Smileys“ als Anerkennung für den Kampf gegen die Plastikflut verteilen. Über einen Bericht über das „plastikfreie Bornholm“ hört die Sylterin Heike Werner von Bye Bye Plastik und Steffi Schroeter und holt das Projekt auf die Insel Sylt. Zusammen mit Carin Winkler beschließen sie, Sylt mehr und mehr plastikfrei zu machen. Im gleichen Jahr starten Ehrenamtliche regionale Bye Bye Plastik-Projekte in Kiel, Bordesholm, am Niederrhein und Westerwald/Mittelrhein. Die Bewegung wächst! Auf Bornholm nimmt Bye Bye Plastik auf dem politischen Volkstreffen „Folkemøde“ teil und bewirkt, dass das Thema Einwegplastik für das Event mit 150.000 Besuchern erstmals ernsthaft diskutiert wird. Es folgt der Beschluss, dass die Veranstaltung ab 2020 frei von Einwegplastik sein soll und dem organisierenden Sekretariat wird die CHANGEMAKER-Partnerschaft verliehen.

BPP 2019
2020

Corona trifft auch das Engagement von Bye Bye Plastik und die Aufmerksamkeit für den Kampf gegen die Plastikflut geht auf Null. Stattdessen steigt der Verbrauch von Einwegartikeln und Hygieneprodukten steil an. Sylt ist weiterhin sehr aktiv und gewinnt den Umweltpreis der Inseln und Halligen. Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Gründerin und den Sylterinnen verstärkt sich und man nimmt zusammen u.a. Meetings des „Runden Tisch Meeresmüll“, einer Informationsplattform von rund 130 Expert*innen aus Fischerei, Schifffahrt, Industrie, Einzelhandel, Wissenschaft, Bildung, Tourismus, Umweltverbänden, Behörden, Politik und Kunst, teil. Es kommen Bye Bye Plastik-Regionalgruppen aus Flensburg und Frankfurt dazu.

BPP 2020
2021

Im Juli 2021 tritt EU-weit eine neue Verordnung in Kraft, die die Produktion von einigen Plastik-Einwegartikeln, wie z.B. den Plastikbecher oder Strohhalm, verbietet. Ein erster Meilenstein der Arbeit ist getan, und nun gilt es, die Kriterien zur Plastikreduktion anzupassen und die Forderungen an die Unternehmen zu erhöhen. Eine Umstrukturierung steht an: Es bildet sich ein festes Kernteam aus Steffi Schroeter, Heike Werner und Carin Winkler und man beschließt, dem Projekt eine neue Form und Struktur zu geben, um Spenden entgegennehmen zu können und die Aktivitäten und Projekte auszuweiten. Man entscheidet sich zu der Gründung einer gemeinnützigen GmbH und setzt alle nötigen Vorbereitungen dafür in Gang. Sylt wird die aktivste Region Deutschlands und steht in Kooperation mit anderen Akteuren wie zum Beispiel Healthy Seas, Ocean.Now! und wird Teil von neu gegründeten Projekte wie die „Klare Kante Sylt“ zur Abfallvermeidung auf der Insel.

BPP 2021
2022

Das Kernteam steckt mehr und mehr die Köpfe zusammen und es wird ein Konzept erarbeitet, das Bye Bye Plastik noch mehr zu einer Bewegung machen wird, nach dem Motto: One for the people. One for the companies. Both for the movement. Ein Team von drei jungen IT und Design Studenten wird angeheuert und es wird die CHANGEMAKER-Partnerschaft mit neuen Kriterien für Unternehmen und kommunale Einrichtungen entwickelt, sowie der Sticker BELIEVER, mit dem Privatpersonen ihre Haltung und ihren konkreten Beitrag gegen die Plastikflut nach außen tragen können. Beides wird als geschützte Marke angemeldet. Im Februar wird offiziell die Meeresschutzorganisation Bye Bye Plastik guG mit Sitz in Westerland auf Sylt gegründet, mit den drei Gesellschafterinnen Steffi, Heike und Carin. Steffi Schroeter übernimmt die operative Geschäftsführung. Ab März können die ersten Spendengelder entgegengenommen werden. Bye Bye Plastik startet durch eine engagierte deutsche Auswanderin nun auch in Norwegen, in Stavanger. Heike und Carin holen die Mikroplastik-Ausstellung „inyourface“ von Ocean-Now! nach Sylt, die am 22.März 2022 eröffnet wird. Die Künstlerin Swantje Günzel ist zur Eröffnung dabei und eine Themenwoche mit Veranstaltungen zum Thema Mikroplastik und Beach Clean Ups rahmen das Programm ein. Die neue, zweisprachige Internetseite kommt im Mai heraus, auf der sich jetzt Unternehmen und Einrichtungen auch online um die CHANGEMAKER-Partnerschaft bewerben können. Bye Bye Plastik bekommt auf Rügen auf der Insel- und Halligkonferenz den Umweltpreis überreicht.

BPP 2022

Wir wollen anpacken

Wir sind ein Movement!

Together Bye Bye Plastic
Steffi Bye Bye Plastic

Bei uns kann jeder mitmachen, der seinen Beitrag leisten möchte.

Steffi
Carin Bye Bye Plastic

Gemeinsam etwas bewirken. Gemeinsam verändern.

Carin
Heike Bye Bye Plastic

Im Großen den Unterschied machen.

Heike

Jede Hilfe zählt! Du kannst auch Teil von uns werden. Ob auf Events, durch eine Spende oder Deine Taten. Jeder Schritt zählt, egal wie groß. Wir wollen gemeinsam eine bessere Zukunft schaffen und unsere Ozeane immer mehr von Plastik befreien. Das geht aber nur mit eurer Unterstützung, deshalb sind wir umso dankbarer, dass Du dabei bist!

Mitmachen

Das sind wir

Love Bye Bye Plastic
Bye Bye Plastic team Bye Bye Plastic team Bye Bye Plastic team Bye Bye Plastic team Bye Bye Plastic team Bye Bye Plastic team Bye Bye Plastic team Bye Bye Plastic team

Veränderung schaffen

Veränderung schaffen

Unsere Projekte fördern

Wir informieren, motivieren und aktivieren Bürger*innen, Unternehmen und Kommunen, mit dem Ziel, dass der Plastikverbrauch reduziert wird.

Events ermöglichen

Wir schaffen Bewusstsein für das Problem und aktivieren gleichsam zum konkreten Handeln.

Zertifikate auszeichnen

Wir setzen uns dafür ein, dass Jede und Jeder, der und die sich für Bye Bye Plastik einsetzt im Kleinen anfangen kann, zur Veränderung beizutragen.

Die Ozeane schützen

Wir sind eine Meeresschutzorganisation und setzen uns für das ein, was wir lieben. Unsere Ozeane und dessen Bewohner ersticken in Plastik und es liegt an uns Menschen, das zu ändern.